New online course on organic seed available

The webinar series is part of an organic seed internship program. Photo: Thinkstock

By OrganicBiz staff

The U.S.-based Organic Seed Alliance (OSA) has teamed up with the Multinational Exchange for Sustainable Agriculture (MESA) to offer a seed internship program linking experienced organic seed producers with beginning farmers through a series of webinars.

The new online course is available to anyone interested in learning how to grow organic seed.

An OSA release says the the course runs through the end of the year with more trainings planned for 2017. Participants will have access to monthly webinars, reading lists, online discussion forums, multi-media curriculum, and other materials that collectively serve as a comprehensive resource for learning about and teaching organic seed production.

“The course supports farmers who are teaching interns how to grow organic seed by providing structured and professional instruction on everything from production practices to seed economics,” the release says. “The trainings also help experienced organic seed growers refine their skills and connect with other growers”.

More details about the course can be found at learn.mesaprogram.org/courses/organic-seed-internship/

Orientation and webinar schedule

OSA and MESA will host an orientation on August 15th at 11:00 a.m. PST to answer questions and walk through the online course materials and schedule.

The six-part webinar series is being held throughout the 2016 growing season. Each webinar is led by OSA and other organic seed experts, and focuses on basic skills needed for growing and producing organic seed.

Webinars are held at 11:00 a.m. Pacific (12:00 p.m. Mountain, 1:00 p.m. Central, 2:00 p.m. Eastern) on the third Tuesday of each month through November:

  • July 19: Webinar Series #2: Trials and Selection
  • August 16: Webinar Series #3: Diseases and Pests, Case Study
  • September 20: Webinar Series #4: Seed Quality, Harvesting Techniques, and Equipment
  • October 18: Webinar Series #5: Cleaning and Record Keeping, Case Study
  • November 15 : Webinar Series #6: Seed Contracting, Economics, and Policy